Thirteen Paramedics Recognized for Exemplary Service

Thirteen Nova Scotia paramedics have been awarded the Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Services Medal for their dedication.

The paramedics have dedicated their careers to providing care to Nova Scotians in their greatest time of need, sometimes at personal risk.

Lt.-Gov. Arthur J. LeBlanc, who presented the medals on Feb. 20, noted the dedication they exemplify daily.

“Today’s investiture ceremony is a reminder that members of Emergency Medical Services are the quiet heroes that walk among us,” said Lt.-Gov. LeBlanc. “They perform their duties without discrimination and with modest grace – saving lives, helping others, and giving selflessly, and we are comforted knowing that they are standing by ready to help.”

The paramedics who received the medals are:
— Greg Bayers, Dayspring, Lunenburg Co.
— Kenneth Caldwell, Sydney Mines
— Colin Flynn, Elmsdale
— Kevin Guy, Dartmouth
— Greg Hann, Sydney
— John Lewis, Glace Bay
— Brian MacDonald, Sydney
— Allan MacPherson, Sydney
— Steve Menzies, Berwick
— Darren Trenholm, Trenton
— Dean Vokey, Dartmouth
— Reginald Wilson, Amherst
— Peter You, Halifax

Mr. Trenholm, who is an intermediate care paramedic followed in his father’s footsteps as a volunteer firefighter, which eventually led him to a career in paramedicine.

“I have been very fortunate to have found a career that has allowed me to work with professionals of the highest calibre and together have such a profound effect on the wellbeing of others.”

The medal was created by Queen Elizabeth II in 1994. It is part of a national recognition program for people who work in high-risk jobs that enhance Canada’s public safety.

Police, firefighters, corrections officers, coast guard members and peace officers are also eligible for exemplary service medals which are part of the Canadian honours system.

Emergency Medical Services professionals can be nominated by their peers or the public. Recipients must have demonstrated exemplary service in their careers for at least 20 years, including 10 years in an emergency medical services position that involves potential risk.

For more information on the awards, visit